Tepuys from the plane

I’m back from my trip and trying to adjust to the change as quickly as possible. It seems strange to have left in October, and returned to find Christmas just around the corner.

To tell the truth, I’m feeling unsettled and strange. On the one had glad to be back and on track with work, on the other so very alien and out of place in this country. I have moments when all I can do is throw myself on my bed and scream my homesickness into my pillow.

On a lighter note, here is a list of some things I did on my trip:

  • Got married (again!)
  • Travelled on 12 different planes, including two 6-seater propeller planes small enough to fit inside a VW Beetle.
  • Felt the spray of the tallest waterfall in the world.
  • Spent ten short days in my favourite city, watching it tear itself to pieces, and emerged with tenuous hope for its future.
