Icarus

I made this last summer for my sister. It was my first lace project, and a very easy and satisfying knit. I pretty much stuck to the pattern as written, though I added beads to the wing-points.

I love Miriam Felton‘s designs. I’m in the last throes of Mountain Peaks, and I made Seraphim for my civil marriage in January. Miriam’s shawls are elegant and eminently knitable, and she provides technical advice by email for all her designs.

This shawl was stage one in my ambition to knit a lace shawl for every woman in my family. (My mother’s Kiri was stage two, and I gave my grandmother my marriage shawl).

 

    Icarus

  • Pattern: ‘Icarus Shawl’ by Miriam Felton, Interweave Knits (Summer 2006).
  • Yarn: Posh Yarn Beatrice in ‘Bluebell’. This is a lovely heavy lace-weight silk/cashmere blend, which I think has been discontinued.
  • Needles: 3.25mm circular.
  • Modifications: I added 4mm Gϋttermann Facettenperlen to the last knit round before cast-off.
