It may seem from recent postings as if I haven’t been knitting at all lately. In fact, I have several projects on the go, some of which are beginning to get on my nerves. My main work in progress is Miriam Felton’s Mountain Peaks Shawl, which I’m knitting in Jaggerspun Zephyr (Basil), and which I hope to wear at my second wedding in October.

This is what it looks like at the moment:

Heap o' yarn

A forbidding heap o’ yarn, right? I’ve stalled slightly on the border. I loved the main sections of the shawl, and made swift progress, but the edging looks odd to me. Why all those p2tog on the right and wrong sides? I’m not entirely convinced that they make that much difference to the stitch definition. And I don’t really like the way the join between shawl and edging is looking. I’ve been reassuring myself by revisiting some beautiful finished shawls, and I’m sure I’ll power on, but I’m not as confident about this shawl as I was a few weeks ago. Maybe I need a backup?

